logo

Chania Rentals

Holiday Villas in Chania Crete

Reviews

4.9 out of 5 based on 781 renters reviews

781 reviews, showing 1 - 30 Next Page

A breath of fresh air in the Cretan hills

star
We had a lovely two-week stay in Villa Adriana on our first visit to Crete (or Greece, for that matter). The house is very comfortable and the air-conditioning was greatly appreciated when the temperature was in the mid-high 30s!

The house is kept spotlessly clean by the indefatigable Giotta, who visited regularly to change bedding and towels. Otto does an equally splendid job with the beautiful garden, which was a mini-paradise, full of colour and interesting insects. We have never heard cicadas as loud as they were in Crete in August!!

Our hosts were extremely kind, regularly leaving gifts of wine, biscuits and other delicacies, but were never intrusive. We were very impressed with the friendliness of the locals, and this made the holiday even more relaxing.

The view of the sea from the terrace and pool area was a constant source of delight and we really enjoyed exploring local beaches - as well as those further afield (Falasarna is highly recommended).

All in all, a wonderful introduction to the glories of Crete, and one which has whetted our appetite for further exploration of this beautiful island.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Anemos villa

star
We are a family of 4 with children of 13 and 11. We came for two weeks in August 2017. The villa was clean, simple, spacious and very new inside. Comfortable beds and airconditioning in the bedrooms. It has a great view over the valley and bay in the distance and the balconies get both morning sun and evening sunsets for breakfast and dinner outside under the pergola. We enjoyed the swimming pool for cooling down and playing pool games. There was a pleasant breeze and a slightly cooler temperature being up the hill which was great as it was often 35c+ at sea level.

Cleaner came twice a week to change sheets, towels and beach towels and was very nice.

The owner was really helpful and gave us great recommendations. We arrived very late so he provided some basics for breakfast the next morning (thank you!).

There are lots of local villages with nice restaurants (Monica's, Piperia etc). The Dourakis local vineyard was a great tour and lunch. The Vamos mountain tour of bee keeping, bakery and mountain sheep shephards was great. Trips around the west of Crete were quite easy with an hour of driving getting us to gorges to walk and some amazing beaches.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Molto buona

star
Casa veramente spaziosa e ricca di ogni servizio e molto curata. Anche l'agenzia è stata impeccabile. Il punto debole della casa, a mio giudizio, è la disposizione su tre livelli sia della zona notte che di quella giorno conseguentemente può risultare talvolta scomoda.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Fantastic Fantasia

star
We arrived in the early evening and had a wonderful welcome, and we're shown around the villa and told about the cleaning services. We were left juice and water in the fridge, and complimentary local drink.

The villa was fabulous. Brand new, clean, everything we could need. Very comfortable with plenty of bedding, towels and complimentary toiletries. The outside area was wonderful with a beautiful pool, plenty of sun beds and seating and brollies. The pool area was cleaned every couple of days and the villa cleaned twice a week thoroughly.

The owners were so so helpful and even picked up a family member from the airport free of charge who arrived later than the rest of us. We had an issue with the power and made a phone call and they were there within 5 minutes and problem fixed. We also had an accident in the bedroom and pulled a shelf away from the wall. Again, they were there within minutes and the shelf fixed without any fuss.

A totally wonderful holiday in a wonderful place in a beautiful villa with fantastic service. 100% recommended.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

August 2017

star
A perfect villa in a great location. The pool area is relaxing and quiet offering sun for the whole day and also plenty of natural shade and parasols also. The pool is lit in the evening and automatically switches off at midnight.

Close enough to walk to Maleme where there are many restaurants along the beach front. The Wave Restaurant is very nice.

When you leave the airport it is very useful to type in the coordinates to your Sat Nav or Smart Phone using google maps - we found this to be invaluable in ensuring that we arrived exactly at the villa.

About 20 minutes away is a more bustling place called Platanias and the beach at Agia Marina is perfect. It is sandy, boasting very shallow water for quite some distance and it has a sandy sea bed making it perfect for swimming and cooling down, particularly if you have smaller children. However, the waves can be quite choppy.

The island is easy to travel around on, as long as you find your way to the main highway, you can pretty much get any where. We visited Gramvousa and Balos via a day cruise from Kissamou. You can pay at the port, which is cheaper than pre purchase - be sure to arrive early though. A visit to Chania is also recommended - both the city and the harbour are very beautiful.

We certainly didn't explore everything that Crete has to offer but we will definitely return in the near future.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Perfect holiday at Joseph

star
Joseph is a stunning villa, wonderfully maintained and equipped, lovely owner and beautiful location. We stayed for 2 weeks in august as a family of five and it was perfect for us and our kids (13, 11 & 8). The villa is as gorgeous as the pictures lead you to believe - it's truly stunning. We arrived to a well stocked fridge (which was very much appreciated) and additional gifts of local produce throughout our stay from the owner were well received. Lovely pool, cleaners came once a week, air con in the bedrooms, sheep bells clanging in the fields, sunsets every night, jaw dropping views...

We hired a car via Chania rentals which we would recommend.

The lake was lovely, cool sweat water with turtles and golden fish if you point your pedalo towards the far shore. There's a number of tavernas at the lake that were ok for lunch, but our best experiences were at Giorgia's and Kavalos.

Local supermarkets at Kavros sell most of what you'd need - including BBQ charcoal (the only place we found it). There are beach front tavernas all the way along the beach, all with sun beds and umbrellas - Paradise beach was great - but if the wind is blowing (which it does) there are often red flags out that the lifeguards are keen to enforce. No problem, head towards Geogioupoli where it's slightly more sheltered - we could always get in the sea here and highly recommend Tropicana for great sun beds, beach service, pizzas and surf.

Not much to complain about - a family of very friendly cats call the villa home - no problem for us but might be for some. Quite a few wasps by the pool but not like dippy UK wasps, these couldn't be less interested in us or our food. Noisy cicadas... All part of the rich tapestry of Greece.

It's fab, we couldn't have asked for more.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Fantastic

star
The villa is beautiful and great in the mountains with a cool breeze in the summer.

When arriving look out for the sign it's a bit small. As a tip it's the first right following a small parking area.

The place was well equipped with everything you will need. The chickens really do eat anything and the daily fresh eggs are great.

We had a great time at the villa and the owner is really helpful and accommodating.

We would definitely return.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Perfect holiday for a couple, teenage daughter and both Grannies!

star
This year we needed something a little different as our eldest children were doing their own thing for holidays and we had offered to take both our mothers.

A villa with a pool and enough bedrooms and space to allow quiet time for everyone seemed a great option. We had visited Almiridya a few times over 10 years ago, but always said we would go back. Well, from the moment we walked through the door, we knew we had struck gold! The villa was superb, we loved having all the home comforts - the coffee maker was great, particularly as was put on first thing by the early rising Grandma. Fresh coffee served on the huge sunny terrace on awakening was luxury for two busy people who rush out the door at home at 7am. We spent many lazy days in the pool which was warm and a good size for either floating on the inflatables, or for the hours played of family games. We normally went down to the beach late afternoon for swimming and snorkelling or for a late lunch if we hadn't had a picnic buffet on the terrace which provided the much needed shade.

The views were amazing and we never tired of them, the beds were really comfortable, showers powerful (and warm) and air con really welcome. Would recommend the dreams snorkelling speedboat trip which is bookable down on the beach, swimming with the turtles at Lake Kournas and taking a sat-nav or good map, although some of the detours were fun.

First time I have used Chania Rentals and have to say the service was great. Quick response to emails, easy booking and car hire and a fab villa. Hoping to come back soon.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Lovely Villa

star
We stayed for 2 weeks in August. The villa is lovely and the owners are very nice too. Plenty of space and privacy. Nice beaches nearby and easy reach of Chania town.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Just what we wanted!

star
Our stay at Villa del Mare was outstanding! The villa is bright and spacious and is exactly as listed. There was ample room for six adults both inside and outside the villa. The kitchen was well stocked for those that enjoy cooking. The pool was delightful with outstanding views and a relaxing seating area for basking in the sun or reading a book in the shade.

As listed a car is a must as it is a bit isolated. There is not much within walking distance other than the pool and the sea (perfect for us)! However, there are several stores and restaurants within a few minutes drive and Chania is only a 30-minute drive for more those who want to head into town.

Both the owner of the villa and Chania Rentals were available whenever we had any questions or concerns. When we had an issue with the car we had arranged for through the rental agency Mr. Artemis made sure it was handled very quickly and with no effort on our part. We would have absolute confidence renting Villa del Mare, or any other villa listed through Chania Rentals.

Submitted: May 4, 2006

Wonderful holiday

star
Just returned from villa Campos and already planning our holiday there for next summer. The villa is in the perfect location, less than a 10 min walk to both beach and town centre. The villa and pool are well maintained and well equipped and the team that look after it are friendly and helpful.

During our stay we went on a couple of excursions and would recommend Nikos the fisherman for very early or afternoon fishing trip. Also Georgioupolis Jeep Safari for a really good day out.

There are plenty of good restaurants and bars in the town centre and along the beach front.

The beach is perfect, very sandy with clear shallow water, great for kids.

Had a great holiday and looking forward to returning.

Kevin, Gill and Henry
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Markos Delight

star
This was our second visit to Markos villa and it didn't disappoint in any way.

Markos is extremely confirtable with fantasdtic views over Souda Bay.

The village of Drapanos is quiet and friendly.

We hope to come back soon!
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Definitely a very good choice for somewhere to stay in Crete!

star
We spent 2 weeks staying at the Aurora villa July/ August 2017. We are a family of 2 adults and 3 teenage children and the villa gave us more than enough space to spend our holidays.

The villa is placed just outside a small village just outside Maleme which is a lovely town, with all the amenities that you would require and giving you easy access to the western half of the island.

The directions to get to the villa were excellent. We had fabulous days out - car hire is essential for this villa.

The villa itself is light, airy and very new. The pool is a good size, although not massively deep, so jumping in is not to be entirely recommended! The garden is full of fabulous fruit trees and there are lots of outside eating areas. The villa does also have air con to provide some relief from the intense heat of the Cretan summers.

All in all, I would highly recommend this villa and Crete as a beautiful holiday destination.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Stunning Fortnight

star
We have just returned from an absolutely stunning fortnight at Metochi Villa. As previously mentioned the photos do not do the villa or location justice. Manos and Despina were so helpful and accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble even supplying bottled water when the water in the village went off. The villa was immaculately clean, well equipped, home from home. We would highly recommend this villa to anyone and everyone. We would certainly return without hesitation.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Beautiful, traditional Villa

star
On our arrival we were kindly met by Donny in the nearby village and shown the way to the house which is on the hill outside the village with a beautiful view. Homemade cake, bottles of wine and fruit were awaiting us which was a lovely touch. We couldn't have asked for a better welcome, advice and support from Donny which was available on request but not intrusive.

The house has been in the family for generations and restored beautifully by Donny, his mother, wife and family. It feels like a home, is spacious and has all done the facilities one needs including air conditioning. The pool is a moderate size, it was perfect for a group of 6 including 4 older teenagers to fling themselves about in happily. Though there are a couple of houses at the back of the villa you are totally unaware of them (except occasionally when the dogs bark) and you feel secluded and private.

The local village has quite an extensive range of shops, cafes etc for immediate food and is only a short drive away.

We found a delightful beach at Kalyves which was very simple to get to, had a fabulous taverna right on the beach next to where you can use loungers and umbrellas. This was low-key, not the rows and rows of loungers you might see on other beaches -just very relaxed, a few people enjoying the beach and the view, def a good choice for a relaxing day.

The nearby lake, pedalos and tavernas are also well worth a visit. Also we found out you can rent a boat and explore the coast line from either Hora Sfakion (go to the diving centre) in the south or Chania without a license which many other places seem to require. It's an interesting drive over the mountains to the south and doesn't take very long.

Thank you again for a lovely stay in your beautiful villa, we have some very happy memories.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Fantastic Villa in an amazing location

star
Villa Calma is a beautiful modern interior designed villa. Each bedroom has a very smart and colourful en suite bath or shower room and very efficient air con. The communal areas are well designed and the kitchen is compact but has all the essentials including a dishwasher and coffee maker. The Villa has a lovely outside area incorporating the swimming pool, this is 1m60 deep with no shallow end so is perfect for older children and adults but may not be suitable for very young children.

Villa Calma is in a spectacular location just a few meters from a lovely sandy beach, there is a quiet but popular beachside restaurant next door with more very good restaurants a short walk away. The local supermarket is a five minute walk and the town of Kalyves with its busy beach, shops and restaurants is a very short drive or a 30 minute walk down the road.

The host and owner of the property is very helpful and friendly, he will greet you with a care parcel filled with delicious local products and bring fresh vegetables throughout your stay. Take note of his restaurant recommendations- they are very good.

Submitted: May 4, 2006

Nice villa

star
This went well from the start. The owner was there to meet us a few minutes early bringing some of her own garden produce too. She brought more mid-week with oranges to juice etc. Plus the garden at the villa provides more tomatoes, eggplants etc.

My daughters loved the pool house and we spent most of our time sitting around the pool there.

There are a number of local cats who will try to sneak into the house if you are not vigialnt so best not to leave anything that they might suspect of being edible because they will try, even if it isn't.

The location is good, there are a few minimarkets and a bakery that you can reach on foot or a short drive. The walk down to the beach is easy, my advice would be to ignore the first couple of restaurants and head to the beach, the Wave restaurant seemed the best to us.

All in all it was just what we wanted and I would definitely return.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

A relaxing stay

star
A very relaxing one week stay with our three children. Beautiful villa in a quiet and peaceful location. The villa is very clean with three spacious bedrooms and each one has a terrace with the top terrace having sea views and an excellent spot to watch the sunset. Outside space has plenty of sunny and shady places with a clean pool and plenty of comfy sunbeds.

The villa is within distance to the local supermarket and the shingle beach (about 15 mins) where you will find plenty of bars and tavernas. The area around Maleme is fairly quiet and even the beach wasn't too busy as there are only a few small resorts lining the beachfront.

A car is recommended to explore the surrounding areas but as this was our first visit to Crete we were happy to relax and unwind at the villa with a few walks down to the beachfront.

The hosts Alexandra and Lefteris were very friendly, welcoming and just a phone call away if needed. On our arrival we were provided with an array of fresh fruit including a huge watermelon as well as freshly squeezed orange juice. Lefteris took us to the local supermarket on our first day to stock up and showed as around the area. He even drove us to Chania on our departure as we were staying there for three nights. Only downside was that the AC broke down a couple of nights which made for uncomfortable sleeping but it didn't spoil our holiday.

We all had a wonderful and unforgettable holiday in Crete. A perfect location for a laid back holiday away from the crowds.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Dias Villa

star
Abbiamo soggiornato in questa fantastica villa nel mese di giugno 2017- Cosa dire, quasi troppo grande per le persone che eravamo. Pulitissima, in due settimane di soggiorno è venuta una signora due volte a pulire la villa sia fuori che dentro in modo impeccabile. circondata da alberi da frutto dove si potevano cogliere pesche, albicocche e prugne e innumerevoli ulivi- Non abbiamo nulla negativo da segnalare , soggiorno fantastico immersi nella natura e null'altro. Sicuramente da consigliare a tutti. Cinzia Renato Alessandro Carla Paolo
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Highly recommended

star
We had the perfect holiday at Villa Metochi. The location is ideal as private , tranquil with amazing views from different balconies and the rooftop terrace. We loved the view of the moutains to the right, the seaview over Tavronitis, the olive trees around and the sound of the cicadas.

The villa is beautifully designed with tastefully furniture and equipped with really everything you need. WIFI worked well, cleaning was done twice a week and our host was very service-minded – at arrival he waited while our flight was late and we were welcomed with drinks and food for the first night. Thank you!

Secluded by an electrical gate to the street and finding the neighbor absent we felt very secure and private. A car is recommended and it is a short and nice drive to the seaside of Kolymvari where you can find beautiful restaurants and some supermarkets. The hills around invite to explore them on picturesque small roads.

Chania is not far away. We would highly recommend this villa and hope to return again.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Perfect

star
We had a wonderful stay at Athina villas! beautiful rural location (the photos don't do it justice), stunning views. wonderful villa, clean, well maintained building and a fantastic pool. George was such a nice guy, really attentive and extremely helpful. As probably mentioned in other reviews, you definitely need a car as it is rural! We will definitely like to return to Athina Villa and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Sincerely

Dan
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Superb Villa and Views

star
Had an amazing 2 weeks. Giannis the villa owner is the nicest villa owner we have ever met. The villa was fantastic. Very private even though it has a shared drive you would never know there was a villa next door. The views of the lake and sea were totally amazing.

Easy reach to Chania, Rethymnon and Georgioupli by car. There are quite a few tavernas just a few kilometres drive and all of them served great food.

Tiny downside no wardrobe in the double room. No problem for us as there was only 2 of us. However you really don't need many clothes as there is a washing machine.

We would have no hesitation returning or recommending this villa it was fabulous.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Euphoria Villa

star
My family and I had the most wonderful stay at Euphoria Villa. Dimitris, Manolis and the family made us welcome and were very generous in their hospitality.

The Villa is extremely comfortable, clean and well presented and has everything that you may need and more. The outside area is gorgeous, with lovely pool area and barbeque and plenty of space and seating.

The Villa overlooks Souda bay and mountains, absolutely breathtaking for a family who had not visited Crete before.

We hired a car as Plaka is in a rural area and found negotiating our way around fairly easy; visiting Chania, local beaches (5 minutes away) and Aptera where you will find amongst other things a Roman amphitheatre; there is also a good museum in Chania.

We had a beautiful and very relaxing stay at Euthoria Villa and would highly recommend it.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Great Time

star
Had a fantastic 2 weeks in the Villa, and a great time was had by all. Superb Villa, everything you need, lovely pool, and pool table a bonus.The place was spotless, and beds changed, and Villa cleaned every 3/4 days The area was fantastic. Just a short drive, or 20 minute walk to the lake, or town of Georgeopoli, and its many tavernas. The Villa is ideally placed between Chania, and Rethymnon. We highly recommend this this Villa for a summer break
Submitted: May 4, 2006

star
Gianna Villa has Superb 360 degree views we enjoyed watching the sunset and got up one morning to catch the sunrise. A very peaceful setting. Lovely large pool which certainly was required . Various lounging/seating areas in and out of the sun. The overhang at the front of the house with large marble table was one of our favourite places to sit. We seen 4 eagles on 2 separate occasions. Our favourite taverna was Kostas in Maza, it is a must to experience the hospitality and freshly prepared food. Another taverna well worth a visit is in Nipos.

Kitchen is very well equipped, excellent large BBQ. Sifis the owner kindly supplied a welcome pack containing homemade wine, marmalade, olive oil, olive soap, various herbs and vegetables from his vegetable plot at the villa all very much enjoyed and appreciated. The villa is extremely well kept during your stay, linen and towel change every 3 - 4 days.

This was our first visit to Crete and will definitely be returning, when we do it will be to Gianna Villa.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Again perfect holidays in a beautiful house

star
We have now been the 3rd time to the Villa Stelios. Since our last time the terrace had been rebuilt, which was perfect. Now it offers space for up to 8 people for dining/breakfast. With the attached sunshade it guarantees, that it is never too hot.

Also the sunbeds had been renewed offering perfect comfort for sunbathing or reading.

The location of the villa is still absolutely perfect. It is only a few minutes to the main national road, but completely quiet with magnificent views.

The host is very friendly and answers any question immediately.

We can highly recommend this place to anyone, who wants to spend relaxing holidays on the beautiful island of Crete.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

star
Wir, mein Mann und ich, haben unseren diesjährigen Urlaub wieder in der Markos Villa verbracht, weil wir die dörfliche Ruhe und die Lage dieser Villa sehr schätzen. Das Grundstück ist nur von einer Seite einsehbar. Die Villa ist mit allem eingerichtet, was man für einen schönen Urlaub braucht, es sei denn, man möchte fernsehen (nur ein deutscher Sender). Das Haus ist sehr gepflegt und bequem eingerichtet. Alles ist für 6 Personen ausgelegt, allerdings gibt es nur ein Badezimmer. Um den Pool gruppieren sich mehrere Liegen, Sonnenschirme und Sitzmöglichkeiten sowie der Grill. Für Kinder ist der Garten allerdings zu klein, um sich auszutoben. Der Vermieter ist sehr nett, spricht gut englisch und hilft bei kleinen Problemen sofort. Wir werden wiederkommen, denn dieses Haus verspricht uns immer einen schönen entspannten Urlaub.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Traumhaftes Haus

star
Wir waren Pfingsten für 2 Wochen in dieser Villa. Es war traumhaft. Der Vermieter kümmert sich rührend um alles. Das Haus, der Garten und der Pool sind sehr sauber und gepflegt. Die Aussicht ist von jeder Terrasse fantastisch. Es fehlte an nichts und wir fühlten uns sehr wohl. Die Taverne im Ort (Leonidas) und in jedem Dorf in der Nähe (Yaladiko und Ioannis) sind durchaus empfehlenswert.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Great time in Creta

star
We spent a wonderful 2 weeks in the villa. The owner is a charming person, helpful and easily available if the need arises. The place was great, with really nothing to complain about. If you go there, don't hesitate to try the close by Greek tavern called To Yaladiko, on the road down to the coast, next to a glass factory. The menu is limited but the food typical and excellent.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Great house!

star
I stayed here with my family at the end of May and everyone loved the house! We had a wide range of ages from 2 to 75 and everyone enjoyed themselves.

The house itself is true to the photos! Everything is in excellent working order and it is extremely clean and well kept! Mike who looked after us while we were there was also very helpful. Any questions and queries were sorted out asap! and he was full of excellent suggestions to improve our holiday.

Andreas restaurant just around the back of the house is also excellent for food! I absolutely loved the moussaka there! Not to mention the tourist train stop is just a few minutes walk down the road! And then there's the choice of 4 beaches and the amazing views from the cliffs just up from Iguana Beach! I highly recommend watching the sunset from the cliffs!

All in all a perfect place to stay!
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Back To Top