logo

Chania Rentals

Holiday Villas in Chania Crete

Reviews

4.9 out of 5 based on 720 renters reviews

720 reviews, showing 1 - 30 Next Page

Wonderful vacation

star
Villa Joanna is truly a beautiful place to stay. It's even more amazing than in pictures. Hosts were really friendly and welcoming. Our holiday in sunny Maleme was truly amazing. This villa is like a paradise with a refreshing pool and beautiful garden.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Fantastic Villa in a lovely location

star
We had a lovely weeks stay at the end of May with our friends and without doubt, it was one of the very best we have ever stayed in. The owner was very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The welcome pack was the best we have had and you really must try his Raki, it is so smooth! We all agreed that the villa was beautifully designed and appointed, very clean and with everything you could wish for. The pool and garden area is a lovely place to relax.

The location is fantastic. You just walk to the end of the garden, cross a tiny road and you are on a lovely clean beach. The sea is clear and safe. We also enjoyed the mountain views to the rear from the terrrace. It is a great place to have a pre evening meal drink and what with the views and the peace and quiet, it made for a very enjoyable stay.

There is an excellent supermarket close by and the reliable bus service into Chania also stops there. It's location on the edge of the village means there is a little walk into Kalives, but it isn't overly long and there are a number of very good restaurants.

We all felt the Villa was excellent value and would all like to return to use it as a base to explore other parts of Crete.

Submitted: May 4, 2006

Best equipped villa in lovely setting

star
We have rented many villas over the past 10 years and this was one of the best equipped we have had. Everything you could need, even down to toiletries, was provided. As other reviewers have said the setting and views were great and it was so peaceful. We had villa for first two weeks of June and although the pool felt a little chilly on the first day it soon warmed up.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Fantastic stay at Almyros

star
We've just got back from a lovely week at Almyros Villa. It's been 15 years since we last visited Georgioupolis, so we wanted to celebrate our special anniversary with our family in a place we used to love. We wanted somewhere special and this villa was just wonderful. The property is huge with loads of areas to socialise in and the games room was a great addition. The pool and barbeque were well used. Chrissy (owner) couldn't do enough for us and made sure we had everything we needed. The cleaners did a great job too. Flies were a bit of a nuisance but that wasn't the fault of the owners, just a lot of fruit trees around. We won't leave it another 15 years to return and when we do, we'd love to go back to Almyros villa.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Perfect Accommodation

star
We stayed at Metochi Villa for 2 weeks in May. The house is beautiful, with great views and privacy, and a fantastic roof deck for a glass of good Crete wine in the evening. On hot days, the pool was a lovely spot to cool off and read.

The location is excellent for touring the western half of Crete, and we made day trips to many beaches and villages, including on the south coast. The drives are spectacular, with mountains, and vegetation, and goats galore. Chania is a charming city and we had several great meals there, and also one day in Rethymnon.

The allied war memorial cemetery at Souda Bay is worth a visit, and provides some insight into the Cretan experience during WWII.

I would recommend this villa to anyone looking for a smaller accommodation - perfect for 2 - 4.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

could be better

star
plus points =good size villa,lots of space,really nice swimming pool,5 minute walk to supermarkets,beach,restaurants,nice grounds and outdoor BBQ area.good air con,fairly quiet surroundings,nice owners. minus points=villa is a looking a bit tired and dated ,poor kitchen utensils/appliances, sun loungers very old,no shower curtains/screens.no one cleaned the grounds/swimming pool on our stay only me. these are only small gripes but we pay a fairly sizeable amount of money to stay here.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

The Perfect Villa

star
The Sea Queen Villa is the perfect holiday villa and I would definitely recommend it for big families or groups. The owner was very friendly and gave useful hints and tips and made sure that nothing got left behind after we checked out.

The villa was exceptionally clean and all the rooms are modern and spacious. The pool is a good size and looks out on to the sea on one side and the mountains on the other.

The location of the Villa is also a big plus. There are several lovely beaches within short walking distance. The villa is right next to a kids playground and there are small shops and a couple of restaurants nearby as well as supermarkets and cash points. It's also easy to get to Chania, there's a bus stop right by the villa and it's about a 15-20min bus journey into the centre of Chania, but Taxis into town are much quicker and only cost around 8 Euros so if you're travelling in a group then this is the best option.

I would also highly recommend the professional massage service which we booked through Chania rentals. This was a real relaxing treat! They also offer other (more practical) services such as car hire, which was good value for money.

All in all, the Sea Queen and Chania rentals get a big thumbs up. We only wished we'd booked two weeks!
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Danea Villa

star
The villa is beautyfull, well maintained and well equiped. A nice swimming pool and an excellent view. The area of the house is very quiete and still within 5 kilometers you have the activities of a holiday/tourist area. The last part of the road is going the an olive field and you need the help of the owner to find the house the first time.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Fantastic break at Reverie

star
We have just returned from a nine day break at the Reverie Villa in Stalos.

We were met by the owner George who was very helpful and friendly and always on hand if you needed anything.

Well equipped villa with plenty of space for us and our three active boys. We all enjoyed the pool ( would be nice if it was heated lol) was a little cold when you get in but once in, you got used to it.

Very clean, well maintained property with fantastic views and facilities. Others mention about the steep hill, yes it is steep but helps you digest your dinner on the way back up after a meal in one of the local tavernas.

Our favourites in order were:

1. Amethystos - at the bottom of the hill nearest the villa. Excellent home cooked food by the family and always fresh and tasty.
2. Maria's - bottom of hill On the corner - great with the kids, and food was always tasty again.
3. Leventis taverna - short drive into the hills behind the villa, great cheese pie and honey.
4. Hungry fast food- Main Street towards platanias - great for a quick gyros or light meal one night if you don't want another big meal.
5. Markos taverna - main road back towards Chania not far from Maria's past rather Cretan dream hotel. Again nice traditional kitchen.

You'll go two or three times to these so there is plenty in the menu at each to keep you going back.

Nikki from Chania Rentals handled our booking and was excellent from day one. Very smooth process and very helpful staff. Thanks for a great holiday and we hope to be back one day.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

3 Generation holiday

star
We stayed at Reverie Villa with 3 generation. We have children at the age of 1 and 3 years. The weather of spring wasn't very well and few days got lots of rains. The rainy days were the shortcomings of this villa. The local building culture is not what we have use to. Water founds his way in the villa.

But if the weather was good the time we spend in Villa was perfect. The pool area is nice and clean, maybe not suitable for little children. The views are spectacle!
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Breathtaking

star
Wonderful stay at the end of april and beginning of may. Beautiful weather in a beautiful house.

The view is really amazing. The sea is so clear, a bit chilly but that's normal in april, may.

Chania is a beautiful place where you can choose from many restaurants. Tersanas beach, very nice and also a lovely restaurant near the water. Stavros is also very nice with a supermarket and several restaurants. Nearby there are enough supermarkets. The house is well equipped.

We've had a great time and like to come back someday.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Quel accueil et quelle vue!

star
Nous avons passé une semaine dans cette villa avec notre petit garçon de 2 ans.

La villa est superbe (traditionnelle avec tout le confort moderne), grande et pleine de charme. La vue est exceptionnelle (vue sur mer/lac/montagne)! Il y a beaucoup de restaurants/tavernes autour.

Le plus; un accueil incroyable de la part du propriétaire; il est super sympa et très convivial. Un grand merci à lui pour sa gentillesse! Nous reviendrons certainement si nous revenons en Crête.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Amazing villa - Brilliant service

star
Just returned from a two week stay at Margarita Villa and we have to say, we were so delighted with everything we experienced. Though we were delayed until very late, Margarita was there to meet and greet us. In the morning she had left us some fresh, organic eggs for breakfast from her very own chickens - wow!

The villa is beautiful, clean and had everything we needed. With views of the sea and the mountains from our terraces and balconies we alternated our sundowners with different aspects each evening. The pool and barbecue area were lovely too and with all mod cons within the villa, our holiday time was luxurious and easy. As we were within a 5 or so minute drive to a lovely beach and 10 minute drive to restaurants, plus around 10 minutes into Chania, this location is ideal for most people.

I would highly recommend Margarita Villas to anyone wanting a relaxing and private time away where you have someone at the end of the phone should you need them, to help with any questions. We will return! Thank you Margarita!
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Super!

star
Nous sommes restés une semaine dans cette villa; 2 adultes et un bébé de 2 ans.
L' accueil a été super sympathique et serviable!
Un pack de bienvenue à l'arrivée nous a même été offert!
La villa est très confortable, calme, avec une superbe vue sur la mer/montagne/oliviers.
La piscine est vraiment agréable avec un petite pataugeoire pour les enfants.
Le ménage est fait tous les 3 jours et est impeccable.
Tout est bien pensé et complet pour un super séjour.
Nous avons été enchantés!
Nous reviendrons certainement...
Seul petit bémol: il faudrait que les propriétaires achètent un nouveau lit bébé... Il n'y a plus de matelas et il est inutilisable ainsi.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Beautiful holiday

star
Beautiful villa immersed in nature, among olive trees with fantastic sea views. Dirt road to arrive, but in good condition. We spent a week relaxing with another couple of friends. Beautiful pool area and all the interior and exterior areas of the villa. Experience to repeat. Car needed to reach the most beautiful beaches in no time.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Remvi Villa

star
This villa sits above the resort of Kato Stalos and as such is not overlooked and has splendid views from the balconies and the pool. Its a short steep walk down to the beach and numerous bars. Very close to Chania which is a bonus. The outdoor areas are particularly nice and the living room on the top floor is unusually comfortable for a holiday villa with more excellent views. Clean and comfortable, spacious and nicely furnished and represented very good value during our stay in spring. The bathrooms are fine but could benefit from some updating, and but for these I would have rated at 5.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Somptueux!

star
Je suis revenu une nouvelle fois dans cette Villa de Kournas avec des amis amoureux eux aussi de l'endroit : même émerveillement devant le paysage incroyable qui s'offre à la vue!

Tout est parfait : la maison (très bien conçue), la piscine (piscine à débordement d'une propreté sans faille), le jardin qui est une merveille, en particulier au printemps ( tant par la beauté et la variété des fleurs et des arbustes que par la pelouse incroyablement entretenue)... Tout fait de ce lieu un havre de paix et de beauté... "Là, tout n'est qu'ordre et beauté, Luxe, calme et volupté", écrivait si justement Baudelaire. La proximité de la montagne vierge et du troupeau de moutons offre un contraste inouï avec le raffinement de la maison et de son jardin.

A tout cela il faut ajouter la présence des plus sympathiques et amicales du maître des lieux : Giannis que je veux une fois encore remercier pour toutes ses délicates attentions et féliciter pour avoir su créer un endroit de vie aussi magique et délicieux. Je ne peux me lasser de cet endroit unique au monde et j'y reviendrai encore et encore!

Il me faut aussi féliciter l'agence "Chania Rentals" pour son professionnalisme, son efficacité et l'affabilité de son personnel : tout est parfait aussi bien pour la réservation de la villa que pour la location des voitures en excellent état.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Stunning Location

star
We stayed at Reverie Villa for a week in May and had the most wonderful holiday. We are a family of 6 including a 10 month old baby and the villa had enough room for us all to have our own space! It is set on the top of a hill so there is a very steep walk up and down - not a issue if you have a car (we did walk it several times with the push chair without to much of a problem). From the top there is the most amazing views - one side you have the sea and great views of the island of Thodorou and the other side you can see the snow capped mountains. The villa has lots of balconies and large windows allowing you to make the most of the scenery. The pool area and BBQ area are lovely and also allow you to take in the views. There are 3 bathrooms and the water pressure and temperature was good. The kitchen could do with a few more basic items but not really a problem for us.

The local area has lots of nice restaurants and beach bars with a scattering of supermarkets around. Amethystos was a favourite of ours which was just down the hill from the villa. Kato Stalos is also in a good location to explore other areas on the island.

Overall we really enjoyed our visit and wouldnt hesitate to recommend the villa to others. Thank you to George the owner!
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Perfect

star
Really loved the villa. It's has everything you need and it's and huge! The pool is amazing, the location is great with lovely views and it has a great outdoor seating area. Margarita was very welcoming and would do anything for you. I'd definitely recommend it.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Paradise

star
My husband & I have just returned home after ten perfectly glorious days at Villa Dionysus. The setting of the villa is so beautiful, the views are stunning and all amenities are close at hand, including a butcher, baker, supermarket & a selection of welcoming restaurants.

The villa itself is remarkable, so thoughtfully presented and equipped with everything you need and more, we fell in love with it on the very first day. There is absolutely nothing negative that can be said, the Villa itself, location & amenities are superb. Our daughters aged 2 & 4 thoroughly enjoyed there stay here, as did we, five star luxury indeed!

There is so much to explore and see on this beautiful island and we found Villa Dionysus the perfect base from which to do it and truly hope to return again. We cannot thank enough, Katerina, George & Konstantinos for their exceptional welcome, hospitality and delightful traditional Cretan dishes that only added to the luxury of our stay and made us feel so welcome, if not spoilt!

Thank you so much. I must also add how impressed we were with the booking process, car hire and customer service throughout. Nothing was too much trouble, communication fantastic and all arrangements smoothly made on our behalf by Chania Rentals.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Top Villa and super view!

star
A unbelievable sight over the bay and the owner was very helpfull. When we arrived they arranged a suprise, fruit, wine, beer and snacks. The swimmingpool was in top condition. The house was very clean and half the week there was a cleaning with new towels and lining. If we come back to Kreta we will come back in this house again.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Beautiful views

star
A neat villa. The enjoyment was landscapes. Swimming pool is wonderfully big. We really enjoyed it. The only woman I would like to have is that some of the kitchenware would be rewritten. I recommend the item.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

vacances inoubliable

star
superbe semaine dans la villa keronia , en groupe de 10 adultes, il ne manque rien , bon confort et bonne situation dans un village traditionnelle ou il ne faut pas manquer la taverne "monica".

merci au propriétaire pour son accueille, malgré la barrière de la langue, très disponible et rapide si problème (plus d'eau chaude un matin , résolu par Mr en 10mn ) . et ne pas oublier la femme de ménage pour son excellent travaille et son pliage de serviette qui nous donne le sourire dés l’entrée dans la villa . propreté très bonne . Merci de nous 10 pour cette semaine.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Stunning

star
This is the most beautiful villa in a stunning location with views of the med in front and snow capped mountains at the back We had a couple of things that the owners helped us with and they were so lovely it was like staying with family The villa was spotless and had lots of extra bits, tea coffee a beautiful fruit basket and a bottle of wine was also waiting for us The walk down to shops is about 10 min and quite a steep walk back but doable or a taxi back up is 5 euros I can honestly say we did not want to leave such a lovely place amazing owners and the generally lovely Greek hospitality Look forward to coming back soon
Submitted: May 4, 2006

As good as it looks

star
Keronia Villa was a great base for the nine of us. Easy walk into an interesting village but very private. Really comfortable and very well equipped.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Lovely house

star
We stayed here for a week, mid April 2017.

The house itself is lovely.
Nice and spacious and absolutely stunning views. The house was very clean as well and the cleaner came after 4 days of staying to clean again.
The bedrooms are a good size and there is a good sized living accommodation.

The pool is unheated and in April very cold. We braved the cold water, but if you like your water warm, then this pool is not for you. Personally I think a solar panel with some pool heater connected would likely make this a lot more comfortable.

The owner of the house is very nice and very quick with helping. We were unfortunate and on the first night at around 00:30, just when heading to bed we heard a running water noise. Turns out the drain was blocked.
Owner was there 40 minutes later and assisted so we could get through the night.
The next morning (Easter Sunday) around 10AM he was there with a plumber with professional equipment. We were very impressed. They eventually flushed out two linen nappies which must have been flushed through the toilet by some people that stayed in here before us.
Issue was then swiftly resolved. Since it was Easter, we were left with a basket with chocolates, painted eggs, biscuits for our kids and a massive bottle of water to get us through the morning as most of the shops were closed for Easter.

WIFI: The house has wifi via a mifi connection. We found this fast enough to use our amazon kindle fire stick to stream video on the tv for our kids.

LOCATION:
The house is probably around 20 minutes drive from Chania via the "old road".
You'll need a car to get around.
The "old road" is a lovely road with on the side close to the property, loads and loads of shops, restaurants. We found a supermarket open here on Easter Sunday.
Chania itself is absolutely stunning and not to be missed.

We found the Greek people to be very friendly and love the tradition of getting a complimentary raki and cake in most restaurants.

We would recommend this property
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Perfect

star
Spent a week in April staying in this beautiful house, with a garden full of orange trees. Our host was very welcoming, leaving us fresh fruit and olive oil. And we picked more oranges off the trees. Very peaceful village, lovely paths up through the surrounding hills to explore, short walk to a great restaurant, town with bakers, supermarket a few km away. Couldn't ask for anywhere better.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Exceptional accommodation in stunning Gavalachori

star
We were hoping for something pretty good when we book Keronia Villa, especially when we saw the photo gallery. When we got there, however, it exceeded our expectations by far. What a stunning house and amazing views of the white mountains! The villa and grounds are impeccable with a huge amount of space, a great pool, bbq area and games room. The weather was sunny but windy, still we managed to keep low out of the wind for sunbathing and managed a few swims.

Ten of us just spent a week there over Easter and had the most amazing holiday. We were welcomed very warmly by Anestis who gave us some excellent advice on what to do during our stay. The most remarkable event was Easter Saturday at midnight in the small, beautiful village of Gavalachori. There was a huge bonfire at the church with a candle vigil attended by quite a large crowd of people from across the area. This was followed by fireworks as we headed to the main square where we were given small glasses of wine and cheese pastries along with red eggs, which we then had to challenge people with in a similar manner to conkers. It was SO much fun.

Anestis also recommended a trip across the mountains to the south of the island. We did this and it was an unforgettable day. We drove to Chora Sflakion and got a boat to Marmara (no cars can access this place), where there is a beautiful taverna. The food was wonderful and then we walked up into a vast gorge which was spectacular, with stunning photo opportunities and interesting plants and many goats. Back on the beach we swam into caves, some adjoined, which was thrilling and eventually our boat returned to pick us up and take us back to our car.

The cleaning ladies (apologies for forgetting names) were delightful. It was a woman and her daughter and they did an amazing job and we had a great chat too about all sorts of things local.

I couldn't recommend this villa highly enough. We fell in love with Crete and would love to return to Gavalachori. Thanks for all.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Amazing time

star
This was our first visit to Greece and we loved it. The hospitality and friendliness shown by Stella, Alexis and most people on the island made us feel at home and welcomed like any other experiences in our travels so far. We had a great time at the cottage relaxing by the pool and enjoying the oranges brought to us. We would recommend staying here and hope to return one day.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Easter Family Holiday

star
Myself and my family stayed in Sea Queen Villa for a week in April. We were 8 adults and 4 small children. We had an amazing time and would highly recommend Sea Queen Villa. The Villa is in immaculate condition and is perfectly sized for a group holiday providing everyone with ample space. The host was very friendly and offered great advice about things to do in the surrounding area. The Villa was exactly as advertised...except the pictures do not do justice to how spacious and modern the accommodation is! The property is very private and safe for families with children. The location is ideal with beautiful beaches within a minutes walk and plenty of shops, cafes and restaurants all within walking distance. We used it as a base for exploring western Crete and Chania and found it to be ideally located for both.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Back To Top