logo

Chania Rentals

Holiday Villas in Chania Crete

Reviews

4.9 out of 5 based on 814 renters reviews

814 reviews, showing 1 - 30 Next Page

Relaxing holidays !!!

star
A wonderful and perfect vacation on the island Crete with nothing but nice people and a scenery, as we have not expected them. The house was simply perfect for us, in particular of the housekeeping has liked us very well and was for us a great extra. Particularly dear thanks in Despina and Manos for the incredibly hearty hospitality!!!
Submitted: May 4, 2006

So lovely

star
Fabulous 9 days in Villa Lefteris. We loved the villa and had such a comfortable stay. The pool is beautiful and the location very nice. We would love to come back if we ever get back to Crete. The new Villa's in formation next door look great and we wish Lefteris and his beautiful family the very best of regards and hope that all their hard work continues to pay off.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

"Lovely Villa"

star
Lovely Villa located just outside the village with views across the valley to the Sea. Located a little out of the way but the directions we downloaded were more than adequate to find our way.

We were warmly met by Margarita who made us feel very welcome. She invited us to help ourselves to vegetables from the garden and gave us eggs from her hens as well as leaving us a lovely welcome pack of local produce.

The villa is lovely and clean, well spread out with good facilities. Each bedroom has a bathroom and the kitchen is well equipped with cooker, fridgefreezer and dish washer. Supermarkets were about 10 minutes away, with beaches a couple of minutes further on. Chania was an easy drive and the main Crete road was close by. The villas are within a gated area, well spread out and offer a good degree of privacy.

We had a great time, would definitely recommend. Thank you Margarita.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Delightful villa

star
We spent a wonderful 11 days at the end of September in Joanna Villa. The Villa is a delight. It is very clean and well appointed. We had everything we needed including lots of towels for the pool/sunloungers etc.It was cleaned several times whilst we were there. The Villa is full of character with lovely furniture. It was pleasantly cool in hot weather. The bedrooms all had balconies with lovely views and we enjoyed daily magnificent sunsets from the balconies.

The owners are perfect hosts. They are very kind and intent that we had everything we needed. As with other reviews we also had a late arrival so Lefteris kindly took us on a late visit to the Supermarket for immediate supplies. We also had a wonderful supply of fresh fruit on arrival which was replenished during our stay.

We found the situation of the Villa at Maleme very good. The Villa is situated in a quiet area in olive groves, but only a short walk down to the sea front with bars, tavernas,shops and the beach itself. The beach is pebbly but sandy underfoot once in the sea. Maleme is a pleasant town. There is regular public transport to Chania and along the coast road. We rented a car as we wanted to explore the area and found numerous places of interest including the Botanical Gardens of Crete, magnificent White mountains ,Acropolis at Polirrinia ,Amphitheatre/ruins at Aptera and a great bird-watching lake [ Agia lake]. There are plenty of beaches to visit within the area.

Thank you very much to Lefteris, Alexandra and family for a lovely stay.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

a great time

star
We had a wonderful time at Villa Anemos with a fantastic view. The house had everything we needed and was very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They came twice a week for cleaning and changing towels / sheets.

On the evening of arrival we were very late. Anestis was waiting for us and recommended us a nice tavern. The first breakfast was also provided.

The house is located in a quiet area, we recommend a rental car to explore the island. We enjoyed the beautiful beaches, the mountains and the beautiful tavernas.

Thanks for the good service and the good time in Crete!
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Wonderful Villa George

star
Me and my big family from the age of 9 to 74, had a wonderful stay at Villa George!

Everything was as perfect in real life as it looked on the pictures! Chania rentals made everything easy, the booking,the information, and answered our questions very politely and quick !
I can recomend this site and Villas!
Susanne, Sweden
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Euphoria-villa July 2017

star
Villa Euphoria is a cretan gem between two little villages Plaka and Kokkino Horio, Crete. Stayed there with my husband for a week in july 2017.

The villa it self is very well equipped with everything You could imagine: for example in kitchen You will find both electric and manual citrus squeezers, sandwich grill among with other usual cooking equipments.

The villa is very cozy and decorated with good taste. The cleanness of the villa is first class, both inside as well as outside.

We loved the big pool and the seaview. There is also a beautiful garden with plenty of space both in front of the house and in the back yard. There were many beautiful stone and palm tree plantings in the yard and You could easily see that this yard is planned by a professional touch. Also there were many table&sittinng seats in the garden and near the pool, You could easily choose the place in the shadow or in the sun.

Upstairs in the house there is a very big veranda with a magnificent view over Souda bay. That was our favourite place for enjoing our breakfasts and evening meals. And the sunsets from there were expecially beautiful with the whole sky tinted in different colours of red. And after the sunset the twinkling lights of the opposite coast were so beautiful and also the dark sky with millions stars.

The owner of the villa spoke good English also being very friendly and helpful. There was also a very nice wellcoming gift with cretan specialites waiting for the guests arriving at the villa.

All in all we loved our stay in this beautiful villa Euphoria. But there was also one bad side with it - once You get there You would love to stay there. And that is a problem.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Stunning

star
Amazing, amazing, amazing. Perfect service by Mr. Artemis - very helpful, very nice. We were 8 adults and had the best vacation ever. The house ist amazing, the view stunning. Everything was very clean und well organized. The infinity-pool has the perfect size and we enjoyed every second. The house-owner was very helpful and nice and we had a warm welcome by his mother. Just 5 minutes by car there were supermarkets and taverns with nice greek food.

We fell in love with the greek people and culture, everyone was very nice and generous.

Down the hill we were snorkeling and swiming and enjoying the beautiful agean sea. Next year we're coming back - for sure.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Lefteris villa.

star
We had such a fantastic holiday at the villa. The villa its self was stunning, very clean and had great facilities. One of the things that made our holiday was Lefteris and Alejander. We received a very warm welcome from the whole family when we arrived and they were so helpful and friendly nothing was too much trouble. It was the little touches like the wine and fruit they left for us. We went as 2 families with 3 children under the age of 5 and we found everything about the villa perfect for our requirements. We will certainly be returning next year and we would highly recommend this villa
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Great location

star
Our family of 7 with ages ranging from 10 to 78 stayed at the villa for a week in September .It was our first visit to Crete and the location was perfect . A two minute walk to the beach and only 4 kms from the beautiful town of Chania. If you do not have a car the emir is a regular bus service to town which passes the villa.The villa is fantastic with all the amenities on hand , including a great swimming pool .We were met by Michael who went out of his way to make sure we had everything on hand . He also helped us plan day trips and gave recommendations for eating places in Chania and the local area. The week passed too quickly and I am sure we will be back one day .
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Super Villa

star
We had a very relaxing week in this beautiful villa, enjoying lazing round the pool, playing table tennis and trying the local restaurants in Gavalachori and those in Almyrilda. There were only 4 in our party so the extra space was a real luxury. The villa is kept lovely and clean and within easy walking distance to the village.

A car is recommended if you want to venture out of the village. We found our way to Chania where we toured the town on segways and also visited Rethymnon in search of turtles (too late!).

First appearances of Gavalachori are misleading and you will discover a warmth to the village by the end of your stay. Our stay has been truly memorable. Thank you!
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Superbe villa

star
Superbe villa très bien agencée avec une très belle piscine et un beau parc avec des oliviers. Je veux souligner la gentillesse de Margarita et du personnel. Nous avions droit aux légumes et aux œufs frais du potager..A recommander sans hésitation.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Highly recommended!

star
We had a lovely holiday in Victoria Villa. It's very comfortable and well equipped, with a good-sized pool. A really lovely place to relax. The view over Lake Kournas to the sea, and towards the mountains, is stunning! The owner is very kind and friendly. The villa is well located a few minutes drive to the tavernas near the lake, and only ten minutes drive to Georgioupolis. Not too far to Rethymno or Chania for sight-seeing. It's also well worth driving through the mountains to the south coast. All in all, it was a great place to stay. I recommend it without hesitation!
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Mouri

star
Amazing, truly amazing. Arrived very late at night to be met by Michalis, the owner of the villa and we were made to feel very welcome.

The true beauty and splendour of the villa and the surrounding area only became evident the following morning. There were 360 degree panoramic views of the stunning hills and valleys and most noticeably just how quite it all was. The villa and grounds are fantastic and the layout between the two parts of the building worked very well.

There is a great sandy beach at Falasarna and vibrant restaurants in Kissamos and Chania, although the nearest taverna in the village (down the hill, up the other side to the stop sign and turn left where you will find it about 200 metres on the right) was as good as any and much cheaper by comparison.

I mentioned the hill which for the final part of the journey up to Mouri village was quite scary in the dark. Hairpin bends and narrow roads and steep in places made all the more difficult because we were all tired from the journey. Next morning it all became a normal run down to the village and back after stocking up on supplies at the local supermarket and having a quite beer at the very friendly bar (from the stop sign turn right and it is a short way down just before the garage).

Every day we had fresh eggs from the chickens, vegetables from the garden and fruit from the trees. The grandchildren (as well as the adults) cannot wait to go back.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Cretan magic!

star
What a wonderful time we had at the pretty Maleme villa (27.08-03.09) After a very early arrival (2 families, 4 children) Stella greeted us warmly with an array of Cretan specialities and breakfast provisions. The villa, pool house, pool and barbecue facilities were fantastic catering for all our needs. We also made use of the delicious produce in the adjoining garden. The pool was a favourite and many a volleyball game took place!

Stella offered great advice about places to visit - both in walking distance and car/bus journey away. Worth a visit - a late evening stroll along to the German cemetery. By car, the Botanical gardens and gorge are beautiful, if you're up for a hike! A boat trip to the idyllic Balos Bay is a must! Buses into Chania very efficient and bus stop close to villa. Chania is stunning both day and night. Local supermarket all you need and very friendly local butcher. We did have a kitten visitor named 'Iris' by our children - who didn't enter the villa, but was very playful in the garden.

We departed with some delicious olive oil gifts from Stella. A fabulous stay, enjoyed by all and comes highly recommended.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

just do it!

star
If you are thinking of a stay at this villa, just do it!

The villa is gorgeous both inside and out, very clean with everything you may need, inc towels for the pool. It is cleaned inside and to twice a week throughout your stay.

Lefteris and Alexadera are excellent hosts, welcomed us with a huge fruit basket (make sure you eat the water melon its lovely) a selection of beer and wine. Lefteris even took us to the supermarket to do shopping.

You don't need a car as there is a beach within walking distance with loads of places to eat and drink. There is a small shop very close and an excellent bus service to take you to various town and beaches. Platanias is a short bus ride away, a lovely town and beach where the sea is really nice for swimming and there are lifeguards on the beach. You need to pick your spot as parts in parts the water is deep early on where as other parts are pretty flat and shallow. A supermarket and a Lidl are also easily reached by bus but can hire a car if you wish to go further.

Chania old town and harbour is lovely and we went on a trip on a glass bottom boat and went snorkelling which was brilliant.

There are no water sports as such close by but if you want a relaxing holiday in a beautiful location this place is perfect. The way of life is a much more relaxed pace than we are use to and all the people we met in bars and restaurants were very friendly. As Lefteris said to us "slowly slowly"

There are leaflets in the villa showing various places to visit and Lefteris can advise you on places to go. We took the little fun train to a waterpark, the train fee includes the entrance so the cheapest way to go, it was a good day and our girls loved it but it is quite expensive for what is there are very expensive to eat.

All in All we had a brilliant holiday and would loved to stay longer.

A big thank you to Lefteris and Alexandra for looking after us.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Fantastic house, disappointing location

star
8 of us stayed at Maleme cottages from 12-19 August 2017. The house is absolutely excellent. It is very well equipped with plenty of space, beds, towels. The pool is lovely and so are the gardens. Everything is well maintained.

Unfortunately, we were very disappointed with the location. Given the price we payed for 1 week (2610€) we were surprised that a lot of the surrounding area was run down. Many of the houses in the same street are derelict/ruins and the whole village of Maleme has seen better days. Lots of shops/buildings on the main strip are empty. We were also very disappointed at the ugly, stony beach. Cant really understand why no one points this out. There are fantastic beaches on the Island but you need a hire car to get to them. The neighbours were very noise sensitive as far as we were concerned. They didnt seem to mind about their own barking dogs but our laughing was not appreciated. They complained on several occasions (even when we were out all day!) and that had a negative impact on our enjoyment of the holiday.

Crete was fantastic. In general, very friendly people and food and weather were perfect. We all said we would return to the island but we cannot recommend the house because of the rundown location and unfriendly neighbours. For that reason (offset by the high price) we rate the overall experiece as average.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Quiet Comfortable Villa

star
An excellent villa and very friendly, kind and generous owner.

Lovely pool, great view of the lake and sea, nearest shops and town 10 mins drive. Beach very crowded at Georgioupolis but head left to other side of harbour after 4pm and it's lovely, good restaurant there too. Don't be afraid to drive to south coast, 1 hour, empty sandy beaches, more windswept but around Frangokastello they're lovely. Walk the Imbros gorge and get taxi back, it's beautiful and our 6 year old had no problem, 8kms long. Head inland for monasteries, pottery, caves all are easy drives. Knossos about 1.5 hours and worth it.

Rethmyno lovely to wander, eat around harbourside, try Knossos restaurant, family run for decades and tasty. Also head west to Falasarna for lovely beaches, again a 1.5 hour drive but worth it. Chania lovely town too, again wide choice of harbourside restaurants.

Thanks to Yiannis for being so friendly and generous with fruit, wine and bbq bits, very much appreciated. Adam
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Fantastic Villa

star
We had a fantastic time at Villa Aurora last month. We are a family of 5 with 3 children aged between 7 and 11. The villa had everything we needed with plenty of space for all the family. The pool and the garden are a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the scenery. There are plenty of outdoor eating areas and sun loungers for all.

There are local supermarkets which are stocked with all that you need. The local restaurants also exceeded our expectations with delicious Cretan/Greek food. A car is essential however we also made good use of the local friendly taxi service.

We made a few trips to the beach and Chania however our favourite part of the holiday was the wonderful villa and the time spent in the pool and garden.

The owners were so friendly and helpful. We will certainly consider returning next year.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Excellent

star
We had an amazing time at Stella Villa. The house and gardens were beautiful, clean, comfortable and spacious. The pool was perfect for the kids to play in and for us to swim.

Maleme was really quiet considering it was July. We could walk to supermarkets, restaurants, beach and the German cemetery. The beach is very pretty and the sandy section is at the far end of the beach from Stella.

Lots of reasonable car hire places nearby. the more famous beaches were packed but well worth visiting because they were spectacular and the views on the drive were also good.

Nikos was an amazing host. He did so much to help us including driving us to doctors and then to hospital when two of our children had ear infections.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Dionysus Villa

star
A very wonderful stay at this lovely villa. Great location with easy access to the beach, shops & restaurants. The owners couldn't do enough and left us with a fabulous home cooked meal for the first night and fully stocked fridge which was a great help. Well worth visiting Chania, Elafonissi & Aptera. Would recommend this location to anyone.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

star
We stayed in a beautiful house with a spectacular view .
The house was even beter than we expected.
IT was naar to the beach and the next small town (georgioupoulos) was at a few minuten by car.
The owners are very friendly people. We even enjoyed their restaurant in Georgioupoulos. If we come back we will surely go back to this villa.
We stayed heer in August 2017
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Back again ...

star
We love this villa and it's fabulous view across to Souda bay so much we've now stayed four times! The villa is well cared for and equipped and is just perfect for a get-away-from-it-all holiday, with its good-size pool and pleasant garden offering plenty of shade. As on our previous visits, the owner and her representative were easily contactable and offered us suggestions of places to visit and Kiki's maid service was excellent. We will be back again soon.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

What more to expect?

star
Two adults and four teenagers stayed in the house, and it was even better than expected. It was a luxury that each room had its own bath. The house appeared as clean, modern, and very well equipped. The private pool and the 100 meters to the beach gave all in our family the possibilities for the water life they wanted. The beach was used by many locals, and was quiet and calm. A short trip to the supermarket gives you everything you need, and it is not difficult to make delicious meals in a well equipped kitchen. It is also a lot of good restaurants in the surrounding area.

The owner was very helpful and gave us all the information we needed. We rented a car and went to other surrounding small cities many nights. The teenagers enjoyed holiday life and good internet connection.

The nice nights, barbecue with meat from the local butcher, and quiet nights with sounds from the waves at the beach is still in our minds when we think back. What more can you expect?
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Perfect holiday home

star
This place is just amazing, it has everything you need, breath-taking views over the sea, a great pool, fully fitted kitchen with all appliances, lots of space, no direct neighbours and it just feels so peaceful and quiet. The location is brilliant, only a short drive to Chania and easy access to the Rethimno area, Akrotiri and the West coast (Elafonissi especially). Last but not least, the owners are incredibly nice, welcoming and helpful. I would recommend this villa to anyone who wants a quiet retreat in western Crete.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Villa Dionysus - Excellent villa excellent location

star
I will be short, the website and other reviews say it all, this is an excellent family villa and lovely family owners.

Short walk to local restaurants on flat road, easy by car to other places. Lovely pool and airy rooms, kitchen fit for purpose if not using restaurants,

Lovely local beach with good facilities, ten min walk away.

Would, I stay here again? Absolutely yes.
Submitted: May 4, 2006

another fantastic villa

star
this was our 14th trip to the Platanias area of Crete and our 5th time using Chania-rentals, all of the villas we have stayed in have been fantastic! but for size and location this has been the best!

villa stella was huge with a very large pool and garden area which was very clean and well maintained, some reviews i have seen have said the villa is dated its not it is just traditional greek, a good sized kitchen fully equipped, a very big lounge, 3 big bedrooms all air conditioned, two bathrooms, there were only three of us but this villa could accomodate 8 people, the supermarket was just 1 minutes walk away and Maleme town centre 5 minutes walk and Platanias 5 minutes by car, the owner was very welcoming and helpful and a big basket of fruit and a bottle of wine was there when we arrived, i would highly reccommend both villa stella and chania-rentals, see you next year!
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Fantastic villa

star
We had an amazing time at Adriana Villa - if you are looking for seclusion - this is it!! Everything was perfect and close to Georgiopouli which has a nice beach, shops and restaurants. It is walking distance, but the only problem is that it is along the road with no path or street lighting for a lot of the journey (so take a torch or maybe a taxi - loads available), but other than that it was brilliant. Beautiful views from the villa. Kournas Lake just a few km away was amazingl. The hosts were very kind and attentive ensuring everything was just so. We would definitely come back and hope to in the future. Highly recommended!
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Villa Maritina

star
My family and I (husband and teenage girls aged 13 and 15), have just returned from a wonderful holiday staying at Villa Maritina.

The villas location was perfect nestled amongst the olive groves and set up high with the most spectacular views of the coastline. The sunsets were glorious every evening! The villa's terraces are so thoughtfully planned out to give uninterrupted views from a number of locations....we were spoilt for choice!

The photographs of Maritina don't actually do it justice as it is so much bigger in real life! Very traditionally decorated and great attention to detail.Very clean and well equipped. Wonderful to have our own bedroom and terrace at the top of the house to escape our teenage girls!!

The outside pool area is fantastic and the pool crystal clear...perfect for cooling off in the unbroken sunshine! We loved the different areas of the garden and enjoyed strolling around in the evenings. We especially loved the fresh almonds from the trees and were sorry the pomegranates and pears weren't quite ripe enough!! Dinner on the large terrace overlooking the front of the villa was a special place to be most evenings. Also the bbq area was fantastic even for toasting marshmallows in the pizza oven!

Manos, the villa's owner is an exceptional host. He was there to greet us on arrival with a bountiful welcome pack including his own delicious olive oil which was kept topped up throughout our stay. He was a pleasure to deal with.

Location was perfect for us as was so quiet, yet bars and restaurants of both Maleme and Platanias were a short drive away. The beautiful port of Chania is also very close and well worth a visit as were 2 of the 3 best beaches in Crete and the water park also well worth a trip out to.

All in all a fantastic villa...wouldn't hesitate to recommend!!!
Submitted: May 4, 2006

A piece of heaven

star
What a wonderful villa ! We were a group of 8 (2 families with teenagers) and all would highly recommend this spot. The villa is superb with excellent facilities and perfect hosts. We were immediately welcomed and found a piece of heaven in Crete. Would definitely recommend for those who want luxury/peace and quiet but near enough to facilities and the hustle and bustle of the towns. Would recommend a car - some lovely trips recommended by our hosts. Would return!!!
Submitted: May 4, 2006

Back To Top